The Todd Lecture Series is named in honor of US Army retired Major General and Norwich President Emeritus W. Russell Todd ’50 and his late wife, Carol, in gratitude for their dedicated service to Norwich University and the Northfield community. The series is funded by a generous donation from Ellen and John Drew, the Todd’s daughter and son-in-law, and the Drew Foundation. The series aspires to serve not only the Norwich University campus community but also residents of Central Vermont and beyond.

Beginning in 2008, the Todd Lecture Series has brought revered, provocative and surprising speakers to campus. With a single guest in the fall and a series of lectures in the spring—each selected and hosted by an academic college—each year the series covers a variety of themes while remaining free and open to the public and the students, faculty, and staff.

Past Speakers:



Ray Kelly, former NYPD Police Commissioner
Peter Warren Singer, Bestselling author and futurist
Michael Jager, Natalie Jeremijenko, and William Kamkwamba, Making Innovation Symposium panel discussion
ADM Phil Davidson, USN, Commander of U.S. Fleet Forces Command
Marilyn Tam, former CEO of Aveda; president of Reebok Apparel and Retail Group; and vice president of Nike


Nancy Lindborg, President, United States Institute of Peace
GEN Mark A. Milley, USA, 39th Chief of Staff, U.S. Army
Robert Gusentine, retired U.S. Navy captain; founder, I2 Strategy and Development


Madeleine K. Albright, former U.S. Secretary of State
LTG Mark S. Bowman, CIO for the Joint Chiefs of Staff
Col Michael E. Fossum, NASA astronaut
GEN Gordon R. Sullivan, USA (Ret.), former U.S. Army Chief of Staff
GEN Colin L. Powell, USA (Ret.), former U.S. Secretary of State


Condoleezza Rice, former U.S. Secretary of State
Rachel Armstrong, Visionary Architect
Lt. Gen. Paul Van Riper, USMC (Ret.)
Craig Venter, Genome Pioneer


Gen. Barry McCaffrey, USA (Ret.)
Jeremy Rifkin, Economist
VADM John M. McConnell, USN (Ret.), USN (Ret.)
Aarne Vesilind, Engineer and Author
Bruce Lambrecht, Commercial Real Estate Expert


Lt. Gen. Michael Dunn, USAF (Ret.)
Rebecca Skloot, Science Author
Peter Diamandis,  Engineer, Physician. and Entrepreneur
Kevin Bennet, Mayo Clinic Engineering Chair
Panel: James Carville and Mary Matalin


Tom Peters
David O. Carpenter
Louis J. Hutchinson III
Lt. Gen. Robert Van Antwerp, Jr. USA
James Champy, Management Expert
Adm. Thad Allen, USGC


Maj. Gen. Robert F. Behler, MITRE Corp.
Lawrence Krauss, Theoretical Physicist
Bill McKibben, Author & Environmentalist
“Smart Power” Panel: Col. Christopher Holshek, Col. Thomas Baltazar, Dr. Reuben Brigety, Caryn Hollis
Jeanne Gang, Architect & MacArthur Fellow


LtGen David Deptula, USAF
David Walker, President & CEO


Dean Kamen, Inventor